Hi, my name is Deva…and I’m a Color Freak: Le Abridged Version.

devastyle_MTcarneybookshelf

The stunningly organized bookshelf of MT Carney (via Vogue.com)

A Prelude to a Pow-Pow. 

My Mom: Deva, pass me that red pen over there.

Me (at 4 years old):  *looks around* What red pen?

My Mom: *points* that one right there.

Me: *picks up red pen* This isn’t red, Mommy, it’s BURGUNDY!

(side bar: even though I made up that title, this “Prelude to a Pow-Pow” sequence actually happened. The number of times I corrected my mom about specific colors AFTER that? I think you know the answer. I’m still alive, right?)

I had a saturated love for color since I can remember. (see what I did there?) When I got my first Crayola Big Box with all the colors known (and previously unknown) to kid-kind? I was in absolute heaven, and you couldn’t tell me NUTHIN.

Fast forward to today, and my infatuation for everything chromatic continues. Whether it’s putting my clothes in order of hue or showing someone a surprising new color pairing (a pale seafoam/minty green looks great with fuchsia)

Leave a comment